Three Spanish Stars to be featured from CP Cacereno against Gandaki & Kathmandu 11

Lumbini Garden Foundation is going to organize two friendly matches in collaboration with Nepali Embassy in Spain, All Nepal Football Association, Kathmandu District Football Association and Kaski District Football Association. Spanish B division club CP Cacereno will be playing against Gandaki 11 on 13th of Poush at Pokhara Stadium & against Kathmandu 11 on 14th of Poush at Dasharath International Stadium.

Ahead of their match against the champion’s league winner Real Madrid on 4th of January in the round of 32 match of Copa Del Rey, Cacereno are in a winter/ New Year vacation. A team of 37 members have already arrived in Nepal on Tuesday for their two friendlies against the Nepalese teams. After celebrating Christmas, the Spanish team had flew from Madrid to Kathmandu on Monday where the team was accompanied by the Nepali Ambassador to Spain Sarmila Parajuli Dhakal at Madrid.


In the Cacereno’s squad there are some of the famous former players of Spanish giants Barcelona, Real Madrid & Sevilla, Ruben de la Red, Julio Salinas & Michel Carillero.


Who is Julio Salinas?

Salinas, a 60 years old veteran player, who had won 6 domestic league titles in his professional football career . he had played for the big clubs like Atheletic Bilbao, Atheletico Madrid & Barcelona where he won the UEFA Champions Leage with Barcelona on 1992. Forward Salinas have scored 22 goals in 56 international matches for spain national team for 10m years from 1986-1996.


A 6ft 2in tall center-forward, Salinas was a star player in Spanish football in the 1980s and 1990s. He was famous for his ability to be very effective in the opponent's post. He scored 246 goals in a total of 557 games while playing for seven different clubs in professional football.

Who is Julio De La Red?

De La Red, a product of Real Madrid. He was a member of the team when Spain won the European Championship in 2008. The 37-year-old midfielder played professional football for Getafe and Real Madrid. He won the Spanish La Liga in the 2006-07 season from Real Madrid and the Spanish Super Cup in 2008. He was a member of the Getafe Copa del Rey runner-up team in the 2007-08 season. In the age group, he also won the Under 19 European Championship in 2004 from the Spanish national team.

Who is Michel Carillero?

45 years of age Míchel, is a Spanish retired footballer who played as a striker, currently a manager. In a 15-year professional career, he appeared in 231 Segunda Division games over ten seasons (58 goals) in representation of six teams, adding 62 matches and eight goals in La Liga.

Born in Madrid , Míchel first appeared professionally for UB Conquense ( Segunda Division B). In late 1997, after a very brief spell in Portugal with FC Panafiel, he moved to Rayo Vallencano, where he made his La Liga debut in the  1999-2000 season. Míchel returned to Rayo three years later, after two loans in the Segunda Division: with Sevilla FC, he was a very important attacking unit in a 2001 promotion after a one-year absence.

What type of club is CP Cacereno?

CP Cacereno is a Spanish professional football club who plays in the second division in the Spanish league structure.

Why CP Cacereno are playing in Nepal?

Lumbini peace foundation joined their hand with the famous Spanish Club CP Cacereno for the promotion of football and tourism in Nepal. With the aim of sending message of peace through football, Cacereno are playing two friendlies against Nepalese team.

On the 13th of Poush, the Spanish team will play against Gandaki-11 at Pokhara stadium & on 14th of Poush, they will play against Kathmandu-11 at Dasharath International Stadium. Ganadaki-11 will be captained by Anil Gurung & Rajendra Tamang will be the coach for the friendly match. Similarly, Kathmandu-11 will be captained by BiraJ Maharjan while Meghraj KC will be the coach.

Gandaki XI squad: Anil Gurung (C), Deep Karki (Kaski), Man Bahadur Tamang (Kaski), Ashish Gurung (Syangja), Subas Gurung (Syangja), Kamal Thapa (Baglung), Sumit Shrestha (Kaski), Jeevan Gurung (Kaski), Jay Gurung (Lamjung), Saroj Yonjan (Kaski), Dipesh Ale Magar (Tanahun), Bijay Shrestha (Kaski), Santa Bahadur Gurung, Bhison Gurung (Kaski), Saroj Yonjan, Randip Poudel, Raja Bahadur Magar (GK), Roshan Rana Magar

Kathmandu XI squad: Biraj Maharjan (C), Bikesh Kuthu (GK), Tej Tamang, Suraj Jiu Thakuri, Bishal Sharestha (GK), Prashant Laksham Limbu, Ananta Tamang, Dinesh Rajbanshi, Gautam Shrestha, Ayush Ghalan, Prashant Awasthi, Sujal Shrestha, Yuddha Shahi, Bimal Gharti Magar, Saroj Dahal, Nawayug Shrestha, Niarajan Maharjan, Bharat Khawas, George Prince Karki, Biaksh Khawas, Bikash Tamang, Niraj Chaudhary

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post

Hide the side menu from the topic