A division league 2023 resumes | Tournament Date, Format, Prize money, Fixtures & Participating Teams

Nepal’s top tier Martyr’s Memorial A Division League 2022/23 will be starting from the 19th of Falgun/ 3rd of March 2023. A meeting held between ANFA & participating clubs on 29th of December at Satdobato, Lalitpur agreed upon the terms & conditions to reschedule the league.

Earlier the A division was scheduled to start from the 26th of Poush. For that ANFA had called all the 14 participating teams to register their team on Poush 7 as the last date. But due to the financial issues regarding the clearance of preparation expenses from ANFA, the clubs didn’t even registered.

The conflict with the clubs

After a rattle between ANFA & clubs, there arouse the uncertainty in the organization of league this year. These sorts of frustrating situation made lots of Nepalese players to speak up for their right to play demanding both their clubs and ANFA to start the league soon.

ANFA then again called the meeting for 14th of Poush to fix the league date on agreement. Finally the Thursday meeting have concluded the mutual understanding between the both parties. ANFA have provided the unpaid preparation expenses to all the clubs. ANFA source have said that 1.6 lakhs US Dollar has been brought from FIFA to pay the expenses. It's nearly after one year Nepalese domestic football is back in action since 26th February 2022.

Participating teams:

The following 14 teams will compete in the Martyr's Memorial A-Division League in the 2022–23 season, with two teams promoted from the B-Division.

ClubLocation2021–22 position
Church Boys UnitedLalitpur (Balkumari)1st (B-Division)
Friends ClubLalitpur (Kupondole)12th
Himalayan Sherpa ClubKathmandu (Hattigauda)10th
Jawalakhel YCLalitpur (Jawalakhel)9th
Khumaltar Youth ClubLalitpur (Khumaltar)2nd (B-Division)
Machhindra Football ClubKathmandu (Jana Bahal)1st
Manang Marshyangdi ClubPokhara, Kaski5th
Nepal APF ClubKathmandu (Halchowk)8th
Nepal Police ClubKathmandu (Maharajgunj)11th
New Road TeamKathmandu (New Road)3rd
Sankata BSCKathmandu (Te Bahal)7th
Satdobato Youth ClubLalitpur (Satdobato)4th
Three Star ClubLalitpur (Patan)6th
Tribhuvan Army F.C.Kathmandu (Bhadrakali)2nd

Martyr’s Memorial A division league 2022/23 details:

  • Format: Double Round Robin
  • Winning prize: NRs.75 lakhs
  • Runners up prize: NRs.50 lakhs
  • Second Runner up prize: NRs.25 lakhs
  • Fair play award: NRs. 3 lakhs
  • Best Goal Keeper: NRs. 2 lakhs
  • Top Scorer: NRs. 2 lakhs
  • Emerging Player award: NRs. 1.5 lakhs
  • Match winning money: NRs. 50 thousands
  • Man of the match award: NRs. 10 thousands

The hope in Nepali football

After back to back two good news in a time interval of one week, Nepali football seems to get back in its shape once again with a bang. The renewal of contract with NSL for 8 long years and the resume of A division league, two of the exciting football activities will surely motivate the players to do well in the upcoming seasons.

How long will the league continues?

The league is expected to run for almost 6 months. The matches will be played on double round robin format with one weeks break at the mid for the participation in local leagues. The venues has been scheduled to multiple places in Kathmandu, Lalitpur, Pokhara, Biratnagar, Simara, etc. Longer the league format more the plays and more the tournament will be competative.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post

Hide the side menu from the topic